THE Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has announced that 15 local government candidates who applied to stand in the August 12, 2021 general and presidential elections as ward councillors have gone through unopposed.

And the ECZ says fresh nominations for four parliamentary seats which were affected by resignation and deaths will take place on July 12, 2021.

The affected constituencies include Kasenengwa in Eastern Province, Lusaka Central, Chawama and Mandevu in Lusaka Province.

ECZ counsel Bob Musenga disclosed this during a media briefing in Dubai yesterday that two of the incidents under the parliamentary seats involved the resignation of candidates and the other two were deaths.

Mr. Musenga stated that as in line with provisions of the law, it is mandatory that the ECZ holds fresh nominations which will take place on July 12, 2021 as this will be before the August 12 polls. He disclosed that the ECZ will also hold fresh nominations in four wards which were affected by deaths and resignations namely Matanda ward in Kafue constituency, Mushili in Bwana Mkubwa constituency, Kabwale in Kapiri Mposhi and Ichinga in Chinsali constituecies. The ECZ named some of the local government seats which have gone unopposed amongst the 15 as being Itumbwe in Keembe constituency, Chiniki in Mkushi South, Kabansa in Machinga and Nakambala in Mazabuka Central.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here