DR Congo opposition candidates rule out poll petition

Katumbi, Tshisekedi

The Democratic Republic of the Congo’s main opposition candidates say they will not challenge the re-election of incumbent President Félix Tshisekedi.

The electoral commission on 31 December declared Mr Tshisekedi winner of the poll with 73% of the vote, with billionaire businessman Moïse Katumbi coming second with 18%.

Mr Katumbi, third-placed Martin Fayulu and Nobel laureate Denis Mukwege are among the candidates whose teams say they will not contest the results at the Constitutional Court.

The deadline to file a presidential petition in court lapses on Wednesday.

The Constitutional Court will have seven days to consider an appeal and make a ruling. If no petition is filed, Mr Tshisekedi will be sworn in on 20 January.

The election was marred by widespread logistical and technical problems.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here