Technology and Science Minister Felix Mutati has inaugurated a 20 member technical steering committee for the development of the national space science program and launch of the national satellite by 2026.

Mr Mutati says the team comprising experts from various sectors of the economy have been appointed to spearhead the development and coordination of activities for the development of the space science program under the National Remote Sensing Centre.

Mr Mutati says the committee is expected to develop a zero draft national space science policy, develop a framework for regional and international cooperating partners’ engagement and also develop the roadmap as well as implementation plan for the launch of the space satellite.

He says the establishment of a space science program will ensure actualization of government’s commitment to launch a satellite by 2026 and also ensure effective harnessing and application of space science technologies.

Meanwhile, Higher Education Authority Director General Prof Stephen Simukanga who is a committee member says the national space science program will benefit the country economically.

Prof Simukanga says with the country’s mineral resource composition only being 40 percent mapped, the geological survey will get to benefit in terms of mineral identification when the satellite is launched.

Some of the committee members include Dr. Alvert N’gandu as Chairperson, Jane Chinkusu, Succeed Mubanga, Prof Stephen Simukanga, Morton Mwanza, Dr Charles Lubobya, Dr. Henry Kambafwile and Dr Dalitso Banda, among others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here